Colfax County

Colfax County is the only New Mexico County named after a Vice-President. Schuyler Colfax, the seventeenth Vice President of the United States. Colfax County was created in 1869 from Mora County, which was created from Taos County, an original New Mexico county. The county originally covered the entire Northeast corner of the state to the Texas border. In 1893 a portion of Colfax County was taken to create Union County. That area was divided again in 1921 to create Harding County.

The County seat of Colfax County is the City of Raton.

The county has a total land area of 3,768 square miles.

As of the 2000 census, there were 14,189 people, 5,821 households, and 3,975 families residing in the county.

The estimated 2004 population was 13,831 or -0.2% less then the 2000 population.

The population density is almost 4 persons per square mile.

The racial makeup of the county is:

Population by age: The median age is 41 years.

The median income for a household in the county is $30,744.
Males have a median income of $26,736 versus $19,644 for females.
The per capita income for the county is $16,418.

Local DWI Coordinator for Colfax County

Mary Gansz
P.O. Box 1498
Raton, NM 87740-1498
505.445.0672 (w)
505.445.4750 (f)